Van, Truck, Trailer, Bus and Coach Aftermarket News in Ireland

Volkswagen crowned World Rally Champions for third time

Sébastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia (F/F) and the Volkswagen Polo R WRC were crowned world champions (subject to confirmation from the FIA) on the back of an extraordinary triumph at the Rally Australia.


For the third time in a row, all the titles in the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) go to Wolfsburg. And they do so after another record-breaking performance: a one-two at the Rally Australia, the tenth of 13 WRC rounds on four continents, saw the manufacturer crowned champion in the Drivers’, Co-Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ competitions just three quarters ofthe way into the season – earlier than any manufacturer before them in the history of the World Rally Championship.

Victory Down Under was the Polo R WRC’s ninth win in ten rallies so far in 2015. As such, the World Rally Car from Wolfsburg remains the most successful model inWRC history: since Volkswagen returned to the pinnacle ofrallying in January 2013, 31 of 36 victories have gone to the Polo RWRC, with the carclaiming a total of 62 podium finishes. The 318- hpfour-wheel drive powerhouse has contested 668 special stages so far, winning a remarkable 467. A win ration that is second to none.

The titles in the Drivers’, Co-Drivers’ and Manufacturers’ Championships earn Volkswagen World Championship titles number seven, eight and nine within the space of just three years. The manufacturer remains unbeaten with the Polo R WRC at the pinnacle of rallying, which isthe most famous motorsport world championship outside ofFormula One. The World Rally Championship isregarded as the greatest challenge in motor racing, from both a driving and technical point of view: the 13 events that make up the season areheld on four continents, on gravel, asphalt, ice and snow, and in temperatures ranging from minus 20 to plus 40 degrees Celsius.

The final quarter of the FIA World Rally Championship (WRC) kicks off with the Rally France (01.10.–04.10.2015), which isfollowed by the Rally Spain (22.10.–25.10.2015) and the Rally Great Britain (12.11.– 15.11.2015).